The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation and one of two commission members of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA),           which is one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The Higher Learning Commission accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region.



The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) is the profession’s mechanism to help establish high quality teacher preparation. Through the process of professional accreditation of schools, colleges and departments of education, NCATE works to make a difference in the quality of teaching and teacher preparation.

Since 1916, the University has been authorized by the Department of Education to prepare students for teacher certification. The teacher education program is approved by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and Educational Leadership Constituent Council (ELCC).


The Emerson E. Evans School of Business is accredited through the International Assembly of Colleges in Business Education.